Let’s Stay Home

I feel like I am always mentioning Pinterest in everything I post, and today won’t be any different! As usual, I was on Pinterest and saw an adorable piece of wall art that said “Let’s Stay Home.” I loved it, and knew we needed it in our bedroom.

When I was at my Mom’s house a couple of weeks ago, I created my design on the Silhouette Studio, and we cut vinyl to use as a stencil for my wall art. The vinyl we cut wasn’t as big as I had hoped. I wanted my wall art to be poster size, so 24×36. Well, lucky for me, I made the best decision ever and ordered the Silhouette Cameo 3 for myself!!! I also ordered a 12×24 cutting mat in order to make my large piece of wall art. Everything arrived this past Tuesday.

I redesigned my wall art on the Silhouette Studio, and I used the fonts Sweet Pea & Yellow Daisy. Sweet Pea was downloaded from dafont.com, and Yellow Daisy was purchased in the Silhouette store. I changed the dimensions to 24×36, and I set my cutting mat size to 12×24.

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-1-07-12-pm

After I my design was finished, I started to prep the wood. I used a piece of sanded plywood for this. I wanted a creamy color background, so I used Rustoleum Chalked Spray Paint, in Chiffon Cream. I sprayed two coats, and let it dry completely before doing anything else.

While the paint was drying, I sent my design to the Silhouette and let it cut. I rearranged the words on the mat, so it would cut each word at one time. For this, I used Oracal 631 vinyl.

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-3-55-05-pm

Once everything was cut, I weeded the design, applied transfer paper, and spent a LOT of time working on the placement. I always want everything to be even and perfect. I think it could be a little bit better, but for the first project, it’s not too shabby. My mom said it looks good, so that’s all that matters, right?

14678015_10153985185339562_1836950394_o

The letters are painted in “Enchanted Meadow” by Behr. I was going for a sea glass green color to match our bedroom. I am pleased with the color choice. I used a sponge dotter to paint the words, and I applied two coats. Before it completely dried, I pulled up the vinyl, and voila! I also used an Xacto knife to clean up any spots where the paint ran under the stencil, as I wasn’t so lucky to have crisp lines.

14800162_10153985185344562_1424142735_o

The next step was to add the frame. I have to admit that I made this part extremely complicated. More complicated than it needed to be! I don’t have a nail gun, and I wasn’t sure if I would be framing anymore signs anytime soon, so I didn’t want to make such a large purchase on a nail gun that would accommodate the size of nails I needed. I nailed the frame together the old-fashioned way, with a hammer and threaded nails.

The frame is 1×2, cut down to the appropriate size and stained in Dark Walnut by Minwax. To attach the frame to the plywood, I used wood glue and an adjustable strap to hold it all together while it dried. I did try to nail the frame into the plywood, but since the plywood is only 1/4 inch thick, it was rather difficult.

14799846_10153985185359562_806297940_o

After seeing this with a frame, it makes it look bare without one! Isn’t this cute!?

Here is a panoramic picture of our bedroom before the “Let’s Stay Home” sign.

14795683_10153985261149562_789030083_o

And here is our bedroom now! I moved the small pieces of decoration over to the right, and put the wall art in its place.

14800144_10153985185394562_1352622084_o

I LOVE it, and hope you do, too! Good luck with your projects this week!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Stay Home

  1. OMG Devan you are amazing. I love your step by step instructions and your amazing ideas. Keep them coming maybe I can learn something. I hope to see you soon come over any time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

