Valentine’s Day Door Decor

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope everyone had a great holiday season, spent just the way they wanted to! As I sit here, about to write about Valentine’s Day, I’m staring at all the Christmas decorations that still need to be taken down, and put away…but after spending almost two weeks in Japan for the holidays, I was anxious to work on a few new projects.

 With my husband on the beautiful Nago Bay in Okinawa, and in Tokyo Disneyland, at Tokyo Disney Sea.

Valentine’s Day is a little over a month away, and Target has some pretty adorable Valentine’s Day “things” in their Dollar Spot. While I was on my trip, my mom bought two of everything in the Dollar Spot, and of course, one of each belongs to me. We both decided to turn this really cute wooden red heart into a front door hanger.

15942882_10154214918404562_1908677504_o

Unsure of what I wanted to do, I started in the Silhouette Design Studio. I was looking for a design to cut and use on this heart. I found a design I liked available for purchase in the Silhouette Store, so I bought it, sized it, and cut it on clear sparkly vinyl.

15967031_10154214918534562_692391579_o

At this point, I had no idea what to do next. My mom had purchased burlap flowers to embellish her heart, and I borrowed her idea. I went to Michael’s Craft Store and found a couple different flower options. These flowers are a little pricey, so always make sure you have a coupon! The Michael’s App for your phone, always has some kind of coupon available for you to use! Some coupons can even be combined with other discounts, like their Miliarty discount, available for active duty members and their dependents.

Since the flowers were my Mom’s idea, I asked for her opinion on the placement of them. We went through a few different ideas via text, before settling on the final product.

15991362_10154214918219562_685894088_o

Simple and cute! Luckily, this heart already had sawtooth hangers on the back, so I used those to attach ribbon for hanging.

Quick and easy! Everyone needs to go to their local Target to get a wooden heart, and embellish it!

One thought on “Valentine’s Day Door Decor

Leave a Reply

