Memorabilia Box

I can’t believe I’ve already been home from my trip to Japan more than a week! It was certainly a trip of a lifetime, and the best part was getting to see my husband, but we also did a lot of other cool things.

I’m the type of person who keeps a lot of memorabilia from vacations. It usually ends up sitting in a box or on a shelf somewhere, and then becomes pointless to have even saved in the first place. Is anyone else like this? Well, not anymore! A cute and creative way to store and display your vacation memorabilia is to make a shadowbox.

I had made the decision to make a shadowbox about two days into my trip. Since Sean and I did SO many things, we ended up with a lot of ticket stubs and fun things, which are perfect filler items for shadowboxes.

In order to make a shadowbox, you will need a shadowbox frame, a piece of scrapbook paper for a background, adhesive, and your items to put on display. I already had a shadowbox on hand, and mine happens to be 12×12.

I chose a textured piece of scrapbook paper, because I didn’t want any colorful pattern to be a distraction and clash with my items, but I also didn’t want a boring solid paper. Plus, the piece I chose happened to remind me of the seat covers most of the taxi drivers had in their cars.

So, I attached the paper to the backing of the shadowbox with an adhesive. You can use whatever works best for you. After attaching the paper, I began to place my items. My shadowbox has a lot of great items. Tickets from the Nago Pineapple Park, tickets and a small photo from the Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium, seaglass, Japanese Yen, park tickets and monorail passes from Tokyo Disneyland, a pressed coin from Tokyo Disney Sea, and our tickets to the Tokyo Sky Tree.

15991409_10154221876959562_960687273_o

I moved the bottom left corner around a few times, before I found a layout I really was happy with, so the photo above is not the final decision! I’m happy with how it is now, because I kept Okinawa on the top, and Tokyo on the bottom. It was unintentional, but I like it!

After I decided on the placement, I used adhesive dots to attach everything. These dots work great, because it raises the items a little bit, so your display has a little dimension to it.

15992265_10154221876734562_424114755_o

Cute, right? It just needs one more thing…

16010566_10154221876479562_1770793783_o

VINYL! I used my Silhouette Cameo 3 and the Silhouette Design Studio. The font is “Grassy Meadow”, and I measured for the appropriate size. I love the outcome, and I know just where I’m going to hang it up!

Do you have any memorabilia from past vacations or big life events? Turn them into a cute wall decoration by making your own shadowbox!

Leave a Reply

